How To Report A Work-Related InjuryBy Kenton Koszdin on May 31, 2018 | In Workers Compensation
If you have any questions or concerns about any kind of disability cases, including Social Security Disability and workers’ compensation, call the Kenton Koszdin Law Office today! We’re here to help if you’ve suffered a disability or work-related injury. California law empowers employees who sustain an injury on the job with the right to file a workers’ compensation claim. Many injured workers ask how and when they should report a work-related injury.
Workers’ compensation benefits are intended to give workers the medical treatment necessary for them to recover from their work-related injury or illness. These benefits also provide a partial replacement of wages lost during recovery. Workers’ compensation benefits do not provide benefits for pain and suffering or punitive damages.
To protect their rights and initiate the process of applying for workers’ compensation benefits, injured workers must file a claim form (DWC-1). An employer must provide a claim form at the workplace or by mail within one working day after receiving notice of a work-related injury or illness. Once a worker completes a DWC-1, his or her employer must complete it and return it to the worker.
Immediately following an injury and while a case is pending or even active, an experienced workers’ compensation attorney may help educate injured workers about their rights and responsibilities during the life of the claim. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney may also provide valuable assistance on behalf of injured workers by staying in communication with the California Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) and employer representatives such as attorneys and claims administrators.
If a claim form is filed and an employer doesn’t deny it within 90 days, there is a presumption that the work-related injury or illness qualifies for workers’ compensation benefits. Within one day of filing a claim form, an employer must authorize appropriate medical treatment. While an employer is contemplating the decision to accept or reject a claim for benefits, an injured worker may receive up to $10,000 in medical treatment.
The Kenton Koszdin Law Office helps injured workers stay on their feet physically and financially. If you have a workers’ compensation claim, please do not hesitate to talk to an experienced workers’ compensation attorney. We offer free office and in-home consultations at your complete convenience. Call 800-438-7734 or visit us online. Se habla espańol!