Terminal Illness

Social Security Disability Benefits & Terminal Illness

Most people never consider the idea of being diagnosed with a terminal illness – it is the farthest thing from a majority of people’s minds; until it happens. Beyond that point, every moment is precious. Thankfully, when it comes to Social Security benefits, the federal government takes special care in how they process and handle such cases. If you or a loved one has been given a limited time and wish to collect benefits through Social Security, for either yourself or your family, help is available.

Filing a proof of condition to the government takes considerable time – time that could be spent with family and friends. The Kenton Koszdin Law Office is fully prepared to help process your claim as quickly as possible and push the powers that be to expedite the application. Contact our office today to discuss how our firm can best represent your interests. For a free and confidential consultation call (800) 438-7734 or use our online contact form found on this page.

How is a Terminal Illness Established With Social Security?

Claims submitted by individuals who are not expected to survive a specific illness, regardless of time frame, will be placed into a tract know as TERI – or terminal illness cases. These cases are reviewed, filed and sent through much quicker than usual disability or retirement claims; applicants who are in the TERI system can expect to see a reply or confirmation within 30 days or less.

Additionally, individuals do not necessarily have to state they suffer from a terminal illness on their application in order to be included in the TERI system. Doctors, friends, or other guardians close to the individual may submit a claim to the DDS (Disability Determination Services) where it will be reviewed quickly and processed almost immediately.

What Are Some Common Conditions in the Los Angeles TERI Program?

Any number of diseases, injuries and conditions can lead to a terminal prognosis. The Social Security Administration does not necessarily hold specific guidelines; however, there are a number of common and certified ailments that are well-known and given special consideration:

  • Stage IV Cancer that has reached a metastatic state and is considered inoperable
  • Mesothelioma or any inoperable cancer of the lungs
  • Failure of the liver, pancreas, or brain due to cancer or disease
  • Advanced stage leukemia or acute lymphocytic leukemia
  • On permanent life-support with no hope of recovery or comatose for more than a month
  • Pulmonary heart failure.
  • Genetic or congenital defect in a new born baby
  • Currently on a list for liver, heart, kidney or lung transplant
Simple Share Buttons